LibGuides: Human Biology (SCI 31): Home

Textbooks (free)

This is a sample of several free Human Biology textbooks and course materials available. Additional Open Educational Resources (OER) may be found by searching the resources listed the Open Educational Resources guide. OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

Human Biology
Link to Biology LibreTexts Human Biology textbook.
Anatomy & Physiology
Link to OpenStax Anatomy & Physiology textbook.
Human Biology : An Introduction to the Body's Organization, Structure, and Function
A free, OpenStax-based Human Biology textbook paired with affordable companion student resources puts a comprehensive understanding of your body's structure and function at your fingertips - for less.

E-books (free access)

The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy by Charles Oxnard; Matt Cartmill (Series edited by); Kaye B. Brown (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781118789100
Publication Date: 2015-05-28
Rather than setting forth an overwhelming list of facts to be memorized, this book engages readers with a fascinating account of the connections between human anatomy and a wide array of scientific disciplines, weaving in the latest advances in developmental and evolutionary biology, comparative morphology, and biological engineering.
Lippincott Professional Guides : Anatomy & Physiology by Springhouse Publishing Company Staff
ISBN: 9781582551807
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
This new Second Edition contains general and specific information on human anatomy and physiology and thoroughly explains and demonstrates normal structures and functions in all body systems.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Ian Peate (Editor); Muralitharan Nair (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119063728
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout.

Videos

Films on Demand - Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Search a database of over 5,000 videos in the Health and Medicine Collection with keywords like "Human Biology".

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Human Biology Terms
Dictionary of human biology terms.
MedLinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Anatomy Tools

Zygote Body
An anatomy tool that allows you to manipulate a virtual human body. You can highlight various body systems and rotate the images into different views. Structures are named and you can pin them to help in studying. This tool works best with the Chrome browser. A sign-up is required for the free Lite version.
Human Body Maps
An interactive anatomy tool by Healthline with the ability to rotate images in 3D. Clicking structures retrieves relevant text.

Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
U.S. Food & Drug Administration
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.